Home Security in Indianapolis: Burglary Rates, Alarm Rules, and Costs
Indianapolis reported 4,637 burglaries to the FBI in 2024, roughly 520 per 100,000 residents, more than double the national figure of roughly 232. The city does not require homeowners to get an alarm permit (that requirement was repealed in 1999), but false alarms carry escalating penalties after a first written warning, and your alarm company is legally required to attempt verification before calling IMPD. Costs are therefore equipment plus monitoring, with no permit fee.
Figures researched 2026-08-19; each source below carries its access date. Prices change; treat any price here as "as of" its date.
Burglary and property crime in Indianapolis
The Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department reports to the FBI through NIBRS. Summing the monthly counts in the FBI's Crime Data Explorer, IMPD reported 4,637 burglaries in 2024, down from 4,925 in 2023. Total property crime (burglary, larceny, motor vehicle theft, arson) came to 29,853 offenses in 2024, down from 31,886 in 2023.
| Offense | 2023 | 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Burglary | 4,925 | 4,637 |
| Property crime (all) | 31,886 | 29,853 |
Against the population the FBI lists for the agency, 2024 burglary works out to roughly 520 per 100,000 residents, about 2.3 times the national figure of roughly 232 in the same data. Total property crime runs roughly 3,400 per 100,000 versus roughly 1,770 nationally. Note that NIBRS burglary totals cover commercial as well as residential break-ins, so the residential share alone is smaller, and the counts can be revised as IMPD files later submissions to the FBI. Both categories fell year over year, but Indianapolis carries one of the higher burglary rates among the large cities we have profiled, which strengthens the case for treating entry security and detection as a real line item rather than an afterthought.
Indianapolis alarm rules: no resident permit, but false alarms have teeth
Indianapolis is one of the large cities where alarm users do not need a permit. The Revised Code of Indianapolis and Marion County, Chapter 811, once had an alarm system permit article, but it was repealed in 1999; today the licensing burden falls on alarm businesses, not homeowners. There is no registration fee because there is nothing to register as a resident.
False alarms are a different story. Under Chapter 811, your first false alarm in a calendar year draws a written warning. The second through fifth are each subject to a civil penalty in the amount set by the county's penalty schedule (section 103-52 of the code; the chapter itself does not state the dollar figure). From the sixth false alarm on, each violation is again subject to the civil penalty schedule or may be referred to the city prosecutor, with the code specifying the penalty shall not be less than $200 per violation in that case. New systems get a grace period: false alarms in the first 30 days after installation do not count.
Two other Chapter 811 rules affect equipment choices. Externally sounding alarms must automatically silence within 15 minutes, and devices that auto-dial police with a prerecorded message are prohibited. Monitoring companies must also attempt to verify an activation (typically by calling you) before notifying IMPD, so accurate contact numbers on file are part of making your system work.
What home security costs in Indianapolis
With no city permit fee, an Indianapolis budget is equipment plus optional monitoring at national published rates. As of August 2026, SimpliSafe's published plans run from 33 cents a day for self monitoring with camera recordings (about $10 a month) to 76 cents a day for Standard professional monitoring (about $23 a month), $1.10 a day for Core (about $33 a month), and $1.66 to $2.66 a day for the Pro tiers. Other national providers follow a similar ladder. Home security cost per month breaks down the full annual picture, and cheapest professional monitoring ranks the low-cost monitored plans by published pricing.
Whether to pay for monitoring at all is the bigger decision, and Indianapolis's verification rule cuts both ways: it reduces nuisance dispatches but adds a phone-call delay before police are notified. Is professional monitoring worth it walks through the tradeoff honestly. If you decide you want monitoring, our short questionnaire at /quote fetches real quotes from professional monitoring providers for your address.
A sensible setup for an Indianapolis home
At roughly 2.3 times the national burglary rate, the fundamentals earn their keep first: deadbolts with reinforced strike plates, ground-floor window locks, and exterior lighting. Then layered detection: entry sensors on every ground-floor door and window, a motion sensor with a clear sightline, and a siren (remember the 15-minute auto-silence requirement when configuring it). The evidence on visible deterrence is covered in do security signs deter burglars.
If you want detection without a monthly bill, a self-monitored system is fully legal in Indianapolis and skips the false alarm exposure that comes with dispatched responses; best self-monitored systems with no monthly fee covers the options, and the honest caveat is that self-monitoring only works when you can see your phone. Renters can get most of the same protection without drilling; home security for renters covers that path.
Frequently asked questions
- Do I need an alarm permit in Indianapolis?
- No. The alarm system permit requirement in the Indianapolis-Marion County code was repealed in 1999. Alarm businesses need licenses; residents do not need a permit and pay no registration fee.
- What does a false alarm cost in Indianapolis?
- The first false alarm in a calendar year draws a written warning. The second through fifth are subject to a civil penalty set by the county's penalty schedule (the alarm chapter itself does not state the amount). From the sixth on, the code allows referral to the city prosecutor with a penalty of not less than $200 per violation. False alarms in the first 30 days after installation do not count.
- Does IMPD respond to burglar alarms?
- Yes, but the code requires your monitoring company to first attempt to verify the activation, typically by calling the property contact, before notifying IMPD. Keeping your contact numbers current with your alarm company directly affects response.
- How does Indianapolis burglary compare nationally?
- IMPD reported 4,637 burglaries in 2024, roughly 520 per 100,000 residents versus a national figure of roughly 232 in the FBI's data, about 2.3 times the national rate, though the count fell from 4,925 in 2023.
Sources
- Indianapolis burglary counts 2023 (4,925) and 2024 (4,637), monthly actuals summed; agency and US rates from same payload (FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency Indianapolis Police Department, ORI INIPD0000; select the agency in the explorer to reproduce): https://cde.ucr.cjis.gov/LATEST/webapp/#/pages/explorer/crime/crime-trend (accessed 2026-08-19)
- Indianapolis property crime counts 2023 (31,886) and 2024 (29,853), monthly actuals summed (FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency Indianapolis Police Department, ORI INIPD0000; select the agency in the explorer to reproduce): https://cde.ucr.cjis.gov/LATEST/webapp/#/pages/explorer/crime/crime-trend (accessed 2026-08-19)
- Chapter 811: alarm user permits repealed 1999 (editor's note); first false alarm written warning, 2nd-5th civil penalty per section 103-52, 6th+ minimum $200 if prosecuted; 30-day new-install grace; 15-minute auto-silence; auto-dialers prohibited; verification required before notifying IMPD: https://library.municode.com/in/indianapolis_-_marion_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TITIVBUCORELI_CH811ALSY (accessed 2026-08-19)
- SimpliSafe monitoring plan prices: 33 cents/day self monitoring, 76 cents/day Standard, $1.10/day Core, $1.66 to $2.66/day Pro tiers, as of August 2026: https://support.simplisafe.com/pages/monitoring-plans (accessed 2026-08-19)