Is Professional Monitoring Worth It? We Did the Math

Professional monitoring is worth it if there are regular stretches when nobody can respond to an alarm: frequent travel, a home that sits empty, or an older resident living alone. By published pricing as of August 2026, entry-level professional monitoring runs $9.99 to $24.99 per month, which is low enough that the decision usually hinges on your situation, not the fee. Burglary itself is rare (about 0.68% of US households experienced one in 2023 per BJS data), so the value is less about the average year and more about who answers when you cannot.

Figures researched 2026-08-13; each source below carries its access date. Prices change; treat any price here as "as of" its date.

What professional monitoring actually buys

A siren and a phone notification are not a response. Professional monitoring buys a specific chain of events: your sensor trips, the alarm signal goes to a staffed monitoring center, an agent attempts to verify (call, text, or in some plans live video), and if the event is real or you cannot be reached, the agent contacts emergency dispatch on your behalf. That chain runs whether you are asleep, on a plane, or ignoring your phone.

Two upgrades to that chain matter and are worth understanding before you compare prices:

Video verification. On plans that include it (SimpliSafe Core and above, ADT with compatible cameras, Vivint), agents can use camera footage to confirm a crime in progress. SimpliSafe and ADT both state that verified alarms can get priority handling versus unverified alarms. ADT reports over a 50% reduction in false alarm events with text verification through its Alarm Messenger platform.

Proactive outdoor intervention. The newer, more expensive tier: agents watch AI-flagged outdoor camera events live and can speak to a person on your property before a break-in happens. SimpliSafe sells this as Active Guard Outdoor Protection (Pro and Pro Plus plans), Ring as Virtual Security Guard ($99.00/month), and Deep Sentinel builds its entire product around it ($55/month per camera). This is a different product from classic monitoring, priced accordingly.

What monitoring does not buy: it does not physically stop anyone, it does not guarantee police response times (those depend on your local jurisdiction), and false alarm fines in some cities are billed to you, not the provider.

What professional monitoring costs in August 2026

All prices below are published prices pulled from each provider's own site as of August 2026. Where a provider prices per day, we show the daily price they publish plus a computed monthly equivalent (daily price times 30.4, our calculation, not theirs).

Provider and planPublished priceApprox. monthly (computed)Contract
eufy Plus Protection$9.99/mo ($99.99/yr)$9.99None
Wyze Home Monitoring$9.99/mo ($99.99/yr)$9.99None
Ring Pro$19.99/mo ($199.99/yr)$19.99None
Cove Basic$22.99/mo$22.99None
SimpliSafe Standard76 cents/day~$23.10None
ADT Self Setup (entry pro monitoring)$24.99/mo$24.99One-month minimum
Vivint (starting rate)$24.99/mo$24.99Varies; see fine print
Abode Pro$26.99/mo ($245.99/yr)$26.99None
SimpliSafe Core$1.10/day~$33.44None
Vivint HomeProtect Profrom $44.99/mo + $5/mo per camera$44.99+Services agreement
Frontpoint Interactiveas low as $1.48/day~$45.00Not stated on monitoring page
ADT Pro Installfrom $49.99/mo$49.99+36-month contract on promo pricing
SimpliSafe Pro$1.66/day~$50.46None
Frontpoint Ultimateas low as $1.65/day~$50.16Not stated on monitoring page
Deep Sentinel (1 camera)$55/mo$55.001-year minimum
SimpliSafe Pro Plus$2.66/day~$80.86None
Ring Virtual Security Guard$99.00/mo$99.00None stated

Notes on the fine print: ADT publishes two different starting figures for Pro Install monitoring on its own site ($49.99 in its monitoring FAQ, $45.99 in a promo footnote); we use the FAQ figure and flag the discrepancy. Vivint's $24.99 starting rate appears alongside a $29.99 regular rate for its HomeProtect package and a $44.99 starting rate for HomeProtect Pro, so the number you actually pay depends on package and agreement. Every provider in this table except ADT Pro Install, Vivint (on financed agreements), and Deep Sentinel lets you cancel month to month.

For the full ranked list with what each tier includes, see our ranking of the cheapest professional monitoring plans.

The 5-year cost table

Monitoring is a subscription, so the honest comparison is total dollars over a realistic ownership window. These 5-year totals are our arithmetic (monthly price times 60, or published daily price times 365 times 5) on the published prices above. Equipment is excluded here; for equipment plus monitoring together, see the DIY vs professional 5-year cost comparison.

Plan5-year monitoring total (computed)
eufy Plus / Wyze Home Monitoring (annual billing)$499.95
eufy Plus / Wyze Home Monitoring (monthly billing)$599.40
Ring Pro (annual billing)$999.95
Ring Pro (monthly billing)$1,199.40
Abode Pro (annual billing)$1,229.95
Cove Basic$1,379.40
SimpliSafe Standard$1,387.00
ADT Self Setup / Vivint at $24.99$1,499.40
Vivint HomeProtect at $29.99$1,799.40
SimpliSafe Core$2,007.50
Vivint HomeProtect Pro at $44.99$2,699.40
ADT Pro Install at $49.99$2,999.40
Frontpoint Ultimate ($1.65/day)$3,011.25
SimpliSafe Pro$3,029.50
Deep Sentinel (1 camera)$3,300.00
SimpliSafe Pro Plus$4,854.50
Ring Virtual Security Guard$5,940.00

The spread is the story: over five years, the gap between a $9.99 plan and a $49.99 plan is roughly $2,400, and the gap to a live-guard service is $2,800 to $5,400. If monitoring is worth it for you at all, it is worth asking which tier you actually need, because the dispatch chain itself (agent plus 911 relay) exists at every price in this table.

How likely is a burglary in the first place

Base rates keep the decision honest. Per the Bureau of Justice Statistics' National Crime Victimization Survey, about 905,000 US households, or 0.68% of households, experienced a burglary in 2023. Overall property victimization was 102.2 per 1,000 households in 2023. On the law-enforcement side, BJS's NIBRS-based estimates show the property crime rate fell 9% from 2023 to 2024 (from 2,019.7 to 1,835.1 offenses per 100,000 persons), with burglary victimization rates specifically decreasing. The FBI's 2024 release shows violent crime down an estimated 4.5% and robbery down 8.9% year over year.

Two honest readings of those numbers:

The case against paying: at a 0.68% annual household rate, the average home goes well over a century between burglaries. If burglary loss were the only thing monitoring protected against, a $50/month plan ($2,999.40 over five years, computed) would be hard to justify on expected value alone for a typical occupied home in a low-crime area.

The case for paying: averages hide the distribution. Risk concentrates in specific situations (homes that sit empty, ground-floor rental units, high-turnover neighborhoods), and monitoring plans also cover fire, CO, water, and medical dispatch on many tiers, which have nothing to do with burglary rates. The value question is really about response when nobody is home or able to act, which is exactly when a phone notification fails.

Break-even by situation

There is no single verdict, so here is the reasoning by situation.

You travel often or split time between homes. This is the strongest case for professional monitoring. Self-monitoring assumes you see the alert and can act; at 30,000 feet or in another time zone, you cannot. A vacation or second home compounds this: the home is predictably empty, and water or freeze damage (covered by environmental sensors on monitored plans) threatens an empty home around the clock, with nobody there to catch it early. At $9.99 to $24.99/month for entry professional monitoring, the cost of closing that gap is $120 to $300 a year.

An older parent lives alone. Monitoring here is less about burglary and more about medical dispatch and panic response: monitored plans from the major providers can route medical emergencies through the same agent chain (Ring states this explicitly for its Pro plan), and several sell wearable or panic-button hardware. A phone-based fall alert only works if someone is watching the phone. See home security for elderly parents for setups built around this case.

Your home rarely sits empty and you are responsive. A household with someone usually home, neighbors nearby, and a low local burglary rate gets the least marginal value from the agent chain. Self-monitoring with camera recordings (SimpliSafe at 33 cents/day, Ring Solo at $4.99/mo, or Abode Standard at $8.49/mo) covers evidence and alerts without the fee. If that is you, start with the best self-monitored no-monthly-fee systems.

You want deterrence, not just response. The proactive tiers (SimpliSafe Pro/Pro Plus, Ring Virtual Security Guard, Deep Sentinel) are the only ones where an agent can intervene before entry. They cost 2x to 5x entry monitoring. That premium only makes sense if you have a specific exposure: prior incidents, an exposed property, package or vehicle theft patterns, or a business-like risk profile.

One more input: insurance. Vivint states monitored systems can qualify for up to 20% off homeowners insurance, and Abode cites discounts of up to 30%; these are provider claims, so confirm the actual discount with your insurer before counting it. On a $2,000 annual premium, even a 5% discount ($100/year) offsets most of a $9.99/month plan.

If you land on the professional side, we can pull real quotes from monitoring providers for your specific home through a short questionnaire at /quote; it is the fastest way to get past starting-at pricing.

The bottom line

Professional monitoring is not a universal yes or no. The dispatch chain is genuinely valuable in the specific hours when you cannot respond, and by August 2026 published pricing, that chain now starts at $9.99/month (eufy Plus, Wyze), not the $50/month that older brand names charge.

Our read of the math: if your home is regularly unattended, or someone vulnerable lives there, entry-level professional monitoring at $10 to $25/month is cheap insurance on the one scenario alerts cannot cover, and a possible insurance discount narrows the net cost further. If your home is rarely empty and you are diligent about alerts, self-monitoring covers most of the realistic value at a fraction of the 5-year cost, with the honest caveat that nobody will call the fire department for you at 3 a.m. For the full equipment-plus-fees comparison over five years, see DIY vs professional monitoring costs.

Frequently asked questions

Does professional monitoring make police respond faster?
Not by itself; response times are set by your local dispatch and police department. What providers publish is that verified alarms can be prioritized: SimpliSafe states video-verified alarms can get faster police response than its non-verified alarms, and ADT states its agents send verified alarms for faster response versus unverified alarms. Treat these as provider claims about alarm handling, not guarantees about arrival times.
What is the cheapest professional monitoring in 2026?
Of the plans we verified, eufy's Plus Protection Plan and Wyze Home Monitoring are lowest at $9.99/month ($99.99/year) as of August 2026. eufy also sells a $4.99/month Basic plan, but it is tap-to-access dispatch (you initiate), not automatic monitoring. The full ranked list is in our cheapest professional monitoring guide.
Is self-monitoring good enough?
It can be, if someone reliably sees and acts on alerts. Self-monitoring fails exactly when you are unreachable: asleep, flying, or away from your phone. It also shifts fire, CO, and medical response entirely onto you or neighbors. If your home is rarely empty, it covers most scenarios; if you travel often, that gap is the whole reason monitoring exists.
How common are burglaries, really?
Rare and falling. About 0.68% of US households experienced a burglary in 2023 per the Bureau of Justice Statistics, and BJS's law-enforcement-based estimates show property crime rates dropped 9% from 2023 to 2024. Risk is not evenly distributed, though: homes that sit empty for long stretches carry more of it.
Do monitored systems lower home insurance premiums?
Often, but the amount depends on your insurer. Vivint advertises discounts of up to 20% and Abode cites up to 30% on homeowner and renter policies; both are provider claims. Ask your insurer for the actual figure with a monitored-system certificate before you count the discount in your math.

Sources

  1. SimpliSafe plan pricing: Self Monitoring 33 cents/day, Standard 76 cents/day, Core $1.10/day, Pro $1.66/day, Pro Plus $2.66/day; no contract: https://support.simplisafe.com/pages/monitoring-plans (accessed 2026-08-13)
  2. SimpliSafe: video verification can mean priority dispatch and faster police response vs non-verified alarms; Active Guard on Pro (8pm-6am) and Pro Plus (24/7); $500 Anti-Theft Guarantee: https://simplisafe.com/features-alarm-monitoring (accessed 2026-08-13)
  3. Ring plans: Solo $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr, Multi $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr, Pro $19.99/mo or $199.99/yr with 24/7 professional monitoring, Virtual Security Guard $99.00/mo with live video monitoring: https://ring.com/plans (accessed 2026-08-13)
  4. ADT Pro Monitoring starts at $49.99 for Pro Install; Alarm Messenger text verification has over 50% reduction in false alarm events; verified alarms sent for faster response vs unverified: https://www.adt.com/monitoring-plans-security-services (accessed 2026-08-13)
  5. ADT Self Setup monitoring starting at $24.99/mo (one month minimum); Self Setup pro monitoring starting at $34.99; promo fine print states pro install starts at $45.99/mo and pro install promos require 36-month monitoring contract: https://www.adt.com/own-vs-rent-security/self-setup (accessed 2026-08-13)
  6. Vivint 24/7 Professional Monitoring starting at $24.99/mo; HomeProtect Pro starting at $44.99/mo plus $5/mo per camera; monitoring required with every system; up to 20% homeowners insurance discount claim: https://www.vivint.com/products/monitoring (accessed 2026-08-13)
  7. Vivint HomeProtect regular pricing: $349.99 equipment, $199 professional installation, $29.99/mo monitoring unless otherwise advertised: https://www.vivint.com/products/monitoring (accessed 2026-08-13)
  8. Frontpoint monitoring: Ultimate as low as $1.65/day, Interactive $1.48/day, Video-Only $0.50/day, In-App Safety Button $0.17/day ($4.99/month): https://www.frontpointsecurity.com/monitoring (accessed 2026-08-13)
  9. Abode Pro plan $26.99/mo or $245.99/yr with 24/7 professional monitoring and cellular backup; Standard $8.49/mo or $79.99/yr; contract-free; up to 30% insurance discount claim: https://goabode.com/plans/ (accessed 2026-08-13)
  10. Cove monitoring plans: Basic $22.99/mo with 24/7 professional monitoring, Plus $32.99/mo, Premium $42.99/mo; no contracts: https://support.covesmart.com/simple-pre-purchase-information/%2Ft%2F18b77f%2Fwhat-are-coves-monitoring-plans (accessed 2026-08-13)
  11. Wyze Home Monitoring plan $9.99/month or $99.99/year, no long-term commitment; Wyze Sense Hub required ($55.98, free with annual license): https://www.wyze.com/pages/build-my-security-system (accessed 2026-08-13)
  12. eufy Basic Protection Plan $4.99/mo ($49.99/yr, tap-to-access dispatch) and Plus Protection Plan $9.99/mo ($99.99/yr, automatic professional monitoring): https://us.eufy.com/pages/professional-monitoring-service (accessed 2026-08-13)
  13. Deep Sentinel: $55/mo Live Guard Subscription per camera, 1-year service contract, 1-camera pack $399 (regular $499): https://www.deepsentinel.com/shop-wireless-home/ (accessed 2026-08-13)
  14. 905,000 US households (0.68%) experienced burglary in 2023; property victimization 102.2 per 1,000 households (BJS Criminal Victimization, 2023): https://www.congress.gov/118/meeting/house/117762/documents/HHRG-118-JU08-20241217-SD005-U5.pdf (accessed 2026-08-13)
  15. Property offense rate fell 9% from 2,019.7 per 100,000 persons in 2023 to 1,835.1 in 2024; burglary victimization rates decreased 2023 to 2024 (BJS, Crime Known to Law Enforcement 2024): https://bjs.ojp.gov/library/publications/crime-known-law-enforcement-2024 (accessed 2026-08-13)
  16. FBI 2024 estimates: national violent crime down 4.5% vs 2023; robbery down 8.9%: https://www.fbi.gov/news/press-releases/fbi-releases-2024-reported-crimes-in-the-nation-statistics (accessed 2026-08-13)