Home Security in El Paso: Alarm Permits, Burglary Data
Yes. El Paso City Code Chapter 5.13 requires a city alarm permit, sold as a security alarm license for $72.11 for three years as of October 2026 through the One-Stop Shop. The city says a valid license is required before police respond to an alarm, except holdup and panic alarms or a 911 report of possible crime at the site.
Figures researched 2026-10-01; each source below carries its access date. Prices change; treat any price here as "as of" its date.
Do you need an alarm permit in El Paso?
Yes, for almost any burglar alarm. El Paso's city page calls it a security alarm license, and the code calls it a permit; it is the same document. The rules are in City Code Chapter 5.13, Security Alarm Systems:
- Required before use (section 5.13.020). It is a violation to operate an alarm system until the residential or commercial fee is paid and the city has issued a permit. Alarm companies may not install, activate or monitor a system without one.
- Permit before police response. The police chief requires a valid permit before officers respond, except for duress, holdup and panic alarms, or when someone calls 911 or the police with specific information about possible criminal activity at the site.
- What counts as an alarm system (section 5.13.010). Any device that notifies police directly or indirectly when activated, including unmonitored local alarms that sound or flash outside the building. Fire and smoke-only alarms and vehicle alarms are excluded.
- Term and renewal (sections 5.13.040 and 5.13.050). Permits last three years. A one-year permit is available in cases of economic need or hardship at one-third of the three-year fee. Renewal needs a new application and fee, and outstanding violations or fees tied to the permit block renewal.
- Two contacts (section 5.13.030). The application lists two people, one of whom does not live at the address, or an alarm business, who agree to come to the site within one hour when police ask.
- Display it (section 5.13.020). Homes issued a decal must write the permit number on it and display it so it is visible from the front.
- Apartments and duplexes (section 5.13.025). Each tenant or owner needs a separate permit for an alarm in their unit.
- Not transferable. A license cannot move to another person, business or alarm site.
Apply, renew, update or cancel online through the city's form, or in person or by mail with the PDF application, through the One-Stop Shop at 811 Texas Ave., (915) 212-0104. Confirm current requirements with the City of El Paso One-Stop Shop. The El Paso County Sheriff's Office keeps its own Alarm Permits page, so if your address is outside city limits, check with the county rather than the city. For how permits work in other cities, see alarm permits explained, and for cities that run registration through a vendor portal, CryWolf alarm registration.
What El Paso charges for permits and false alarms
El Paso's permit is cheap when spread over three years, and its false alarm penalties, which the code ties to Texas Local Government Code section 214.197, are low next to a city like San Diego, which bills $100 from the very first false alarm.
| Item (City of El Paso) | As of October 2026 |
|---|---|
| Security alarm license, 3 years | $72.11 |
| Hardship 1-year permit | One-third of the 3-year fee |
| Credit card payment | 2.25% of the total |
| False alarm with fewer than 3 others in the past 12 months | No penalty |
| With exactly 3 others | Penalty applies; amount not stated in the code |
| With 4 or 5 other false alarms in the past 12 months | $50 |
| With 6 or 7 others | $75 |
| With 8 or more others | $100 |
The false alarm rows follow the wording of section 5.13.070, which counts the other false alarms at the location in the preceding 12 months. One wrinkle: the section says a penalty applies once at least three other false alarms have occurred, but its dollar bands start at more than three, so the amount for a false alarm with exactly three others is not stated in the code. Ask the city if that case comes up.
Other rules that decide what you pay:
- Awareness class instead of the penalty. When you pass three false alarms in 12 months, the police chief must notify you in writing. If you complete the alarm user awareness class within 30 days of that notice, or the next available class, whichever is first, no penalty is assessed.
- Cancel fast. Your alarm company can cancel a notification within four minutes, or before an officer arrives, whichever comes first, and police must accept it, so no false alarm is recorded (section 5.13.160).
- Two verification attempts. Before requesting a police response, the alarm business must try to verify the signal, and make a second attempt if the first gets no answer.
- Revocation (section 5.13.100). The police chief may revoke a permit for eight or more false alarms in 12 months, five or more caused by malfunction or faulty equipment, or a civil penalty unpaid for 90 days. Operating a system while revoked is an offense.
- Appeals (section 5.13.120). A civil penalty can be appealed to a municipal associate judge in writing within 10 days of the bill.
- Violations (section 5.13.180). Violating the chapter is a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $500, and each day is a separate offense.
Compare other cities' schedules in how much does a false alarm cost.
Burglary in El Paso and choosing a system
The El Paso Police Department reports to the FBI through NIBRS. Summing the monthly counts in the FBI's Crime Data Explorer:
| Offense (EPPD, FBI CDE) | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Burglary | 1,061 | 959 | 773 |
| Property crime (all) | 11,061 | 10,246 | 9,152 |
Against the population the FBI lists for the agency, 2025 burglary works out to roughly 113 per 100,000 residents, well below the national figure of roughly 195 in the same data, and the count has fallen each year since 2023. NIBRS burglary includes commercial break-ins, and these are counts as submitted, which later reports can revise.
A low burglary rate and modest false alarm penalties mean the main local rule to respect is the permit itself: without it, police will not respond to a standard burglar alarm. The license works out to about $24 a year, small next to a monitoring plan; home security cost per month covers the recurring costs. Property crime, at about 12 times the burglary count, suggests a camera covering the driveway and front approach earns its place alongside door and window sensors.
If you want professional monitoring, our short questionnaire at /quote fetches real quotes from monitoring providers for your address. Ask each provider whether it will file the permit for you, since the code allows an alarm business to apply with your authorization.
Nearby cities
The same breakdown of burglary data and local alarm rules for the nearest cities we cover: home security in Albuquerque, home security in Tucson and home security in Phoenix.
For a national frame of reference, compare burglary rates in the 15 largest US cities, built from FBI agency data.
Frequently asked questions
- How much is an alarm permit in El Paso, Texas?
- As of October 2026, the City of El Paso charges $72.11 for a three-year security alarm license, plus 2.25% if you pay by credit card. A one-year permit at one-third of the three-year fee is available in cases of economic need or hardship.
- Will El Paso police respond to my alarm without a permit?
- Not to a standard burglar alarm. Section 5.13.020 requires a valid permit before officers respond, except for duress, holdup and panic alarms, or when someone calls 911 or the police with specific information about possible criminal activity at the address.
- How many free false alarms do you get in El Paso?
- The code charges no penalty for a false alarm until at least three others have occurred at the location in the past 12 months. After that the penalty is $50, $75 or $100 depending on how many others there were, and you can avoid it by completing the alarm user awareness class within 30 days of the city's notice.
- Can my alarm company get the El Paso permit for me?
- Yes. Section 5.13.030 lets an alarm business apply with the applicant's authorization, and the city says the application can be completed through your alarm company. The permit is still in your name and cannot be transferred to a new owner or address.
Sources
- El Paso security alarm license: required for residents and businesses; $72.11 for a 3-year license; 2.25% credit card fee; false alarm civil penalty per LGC 214.197; police may revoke; not transferable; apply online or by PDF in person or by mail; application may be completed through your alarm company; permit required before police response except holdup, panic or 911 report; One-Stop Shop, 811 Texas Ave., (915) 212-0104: https://www.elpasotexas.gov/planning-and-inspections/business-licensing/city-issued-licenses (accessed 2026-10-01)
- El Paso City Code Ch. 5.13: 5.13.010 definitions (alarm system includes local alarms; excludes vehicle and fire/smoke-only); 5.13.020 permit required, no response without permit except duress/holdup/panic/911 report, decal display, alarm business may not install or monitor without permit; 5.13.025 separate permit per unit; 5.13.030 application by applicant or alarm business, two contacts within one hour; 5.13.040 3-year term, 1-year hardship permit at one-third fee; 5.13.050 renewal; 5.13.070 penalty if at least three other false alarms in preceding 12 months, $50 if more than three but fewer than six others, $75 if more than five but fewer than eight, $100 if eight or more, awareness class waiver within 30 days; 5.13.100 revocation for 8+ false alarms, 5+ malfunction false alarms, unpaid penalty 90 days; 5.13.120 appeal within 10 days; 5.13.160 two verification attempts, cancellation within four minutes or before arrival; 5.13.180 misdemeanor up to $500, each day separate: https://library.municode.com/tx/el_paso/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT5BULIPERE_CH5.13SEALSY (accessed 2026-10-01)
- San Diego comparison: first false alarm in 365 days costs $100, no free false alarm responses: https://sdpdalarmpermits.sandiego.gov/Prevention/PoliceFAQ.pdf (accessed 2026-10-01)
- El Paso County Sheriff's Office maintains a separate Alarm Permits page (content did not render; existence only): https://www.epcounty.com/1163/Alarm-Permits (accessed 2026-10-01)
- El Paso Police Department (ORI TX0710200) burglary: 1,061 (2023), 959 (2024), 773 (2025); property crime 11,061 (2023), 10,246 (2024), 9,152 (2025), monthly actuals summed; 2025 rate about 113 per 100,000 vs about 195 nationally from the same payload: https://cde.ucr.cjis.gov/LATEST/webapp/#/pages/explorer/crime/crime-trend (accessed 2026-10-01)
Related guides
- Home Security in Fort Worth: Burglary Data, the $50 Alarm Permit, and What Works Fort Worth logged 2,709 home and building burglaries in 2025, and far more vehicle break-ins. Permit rules, false alarm fees, and how to pick a system.
- Home Security in Houston: Burglary Numbers, Alarm Permit Rules, and Costs Houston burglary counts from HPD's own published 2025 figures, the city's $50 residential alarm permit, the false alarm fee ladder, and security costs.
- Home Security in Indianapolis: Burglary Rates, Alarm Rules, and Costs Indianapolis burglary figures from FBI crime data, the city's no-permit alarm ordinance with escalating false alarm penalties, and security costs for 2026.
- Home Security in Jacksonville: Crime Data, Alarm Registration, and False Alarm Fines Jacksonville logged 2,490 burglaries in 2025 per JSO data. Alarm registration is mandatory citywide. The fines, the data, and how to choose a system.
- Home Security in Kansas City: Alarm Permits, Burglary Data Kansas City alarm permit rules and false alarm fees from the city's own pages, local burglary figures with year and source, and cost anchors.