Home Security in Phoenix: Burglary Numbers, Alarm Permit Rules, and Costs

The Phoenix Police Department reported 5,274 burglaries to the FBI in 2024, down from 5,690 in 2023, and both the FBI data and the City of Phoenix open data file show burglary still falling through 2025. We are not publishing a 2025 count, because the two sources disagree by about a quarter and the city's own file is missing most of September 2025. Phoenix's 2024 burglary rate of roughly 317 per 100,000 residents was roughly 1.4 times the verified national burglary rate of about 232 per 100,000. Phoenix requires a permit for alarm systems whether or not an alarm company monitors them, and charges $96 for each burglar alarm police respond to when there is no permit.

Figures researched 2026-08-19; each source below carries its access date. Prices change; treat any price here as "as of" its date.

Burglary and property crime in Phoenix

The Phoenix Police Department reports through NIBRS and its monthly counts appear in the FBI's Crime Data Explorer. The city also publishes its own crime data file on the Phoenix open data portal. We checked one against the other.

Offense20232024
Burglary (FBI Crime Data Explorer)5,6905,274
Burglary (City of Phoenix open data)5,2584,760
Property crime, all (FBI Crime Data Explorer)41,43238,892

The two burglary series sit within about 10 percent of each other in 2023 and 2024 and move in the same direction, so those years are usable. They diverge badly in 2025. The FBI-derived total is 4,505 while the city's own file holds 3,361, a gap of about a quarter. The city's file also records only 21 burglaries in September 2025 against roughly 280 to 330 in every neighboring month, which is a hole in the data rather than a quiet month. We are therefore not publishing a 2025 burglary count for Phoenix, and we would not trust one quoted elsewhere without the same check. What both sources do agree on is direction: Phoenix burglary has fallen in every year since 2023 and kept falling through 2025.

As rates in the FBI data, Phoenix burglary ran roughly 343 per 100,000 residents in 2023 and roughly 317 in 2024, against a verified national burglary rate of roughly 232 per 100,000. That puts Phoenix at roughly 1.4 times the national figure. Any 2025 crime figure, here or anywhere else, is provisional and subject to revision as agencies resubmit data, and the gap described above is exactly what that looks like in practice.

Phoenix requires an alarm permit even for unmonitored systems

The Phoenix Police Department's published alarm ordinance page is unusually broad on scope. Within the City of Phoenix, a permit is required for alarm systems monitored by an alarm company as well as those that are not. That second clause catches a lot of DIY setups that people assume are outside the rules.

The published assessments are flat rather than escalating. Without the required permit, you may be assessed $96.00 for each burglar alarm activation that police respond to, and $105.00 for each fire alarm activation the fire department responds to. With a permit, the city's stated rule is that more than one false burglar alarm within a consecutive 365 day period means subsequent incidents can cost $96.00 each, and the equivalent fire figure is $105.00. So the practical allowance is one free false burglar alarm a year.

There is a way to claw one back. The Phoenix Police and Fire Departments run a False Alarm Prevention Program that includes a certificate waiver for either a $96 false burglar alarm assessment or a $105 false fire alarm assessment. It is worth an hour if your system is new or your household is still learning the keypad.

The permit fee itself is not stated on the ordinance page. The city directs applicants to the Burglar and Fire Alarm Subscriber Permit Application and the Public Records and Services Unit, so check the current amount there rather than relying on a figure quoted elsewhere.

What home security costs in Phoenix

Equipment and monitoring are priced nationally. What changes locally is the permit and false alarm overhead described above. As of August 2026, SimpliSafe's published monitoring plans run 33 cents a day for self monitoring with camera recordings (about $10 a month), 76 cents a day for Standard professional monitoring (about $23 a month), $1.10 a day for Core (about $33 a month), and $1.66 to $2.66 a day for the Pro and Pro Plus tiers. Those are list prices from SimpliSafe's own plan page rather than promotional rates. SimpliSafe was running an Anniversary Sale that was ending around this date, so a lower number quoted elsewhere is probably a promotion with an expiry attached, and it is worth checking what the price reverts to. Other national providers ladder similarly.

Home security cost per month breaks down the full annual cost stack including equipment, monitoring, and the extras that get added later, and cheapest professional monitoring ranks the budget monitored plans by published pricing. If you are still deciding whether to pay for dispatch at all, is professional monitoring worth it walks the trade-off, and DIY vs professional monitoring cost does the arithmetic over a few years.

If you decide monitoring is worth paying for, our short questionnaire at /quote fetches real quotes from professional monitoring providers for your address. Because Phoenix's permit requirement extends to unmonitored systems, ask a provider to confirm what they file on your behalf and what stays your responsibility.

A sensible setup for a Phoenix home

Phoenix housing skews single story with block walls, patios, and sliding glass doors onto the yard. The slider is the weak point in that pattern, so a bar or auxiliary lock plus a sensor on the moving panel is usually the highest value addition in a Phoenix home. Detached casitas, garages, and RV gates deserve their own coverage rather than an assumption that a house sensor reaches them.

Heat is the second local factor and it is not a small one. Sensors, sirens, and battery-powered cameras mounted on a west or south wall live in an environment well outside the mild-climate assumptions in most spec sheets, and battery life and adhesive mounts both suffer. Prefer shaded mounting positions and screw fixings over tape where the datasheet gives you the option, and check manufacturer operating temperature ranges before you buy rather than after.

For detection, entry sensors on the ground floor doors and reachable windows, a motion sensor on the main hallway, and a siren. Use pet-friendly motion sensors if you have dogs, since your free false alarm allowance in Phoenix is effectively one a year. Do security signs deter burglars covers the deterrence evidence, and best self-monitored systems with no monthly fee covers the no-subscription path, remembering that Phoenix still wants a permit for that system and that self monitoring means no one dispatches police for you.

Frequently asked questions

How many burglaries does Phoenix have?
The Phoenix Police Department reported 5,274 burglaries in 2024 through the FBI's Crime Data Explorer, down from 5,690 in 2023. The city's own open data file gives 4,760 and 5,258 for the same two years. We do not publish a 2025 count, because the two sources disagree by about a quarter and the city's file is missing most of September 2025, though both show burglary continuing to fall.
Do I need an alarm permit in Phoenix?
Yes, and the published wording is broader than most people expect. The Phoenix Police Department states that within the City of Phoenix a permit is required for alarm systems monitored by an alarm company as well as those that are not, so a self-monitored or purely audible system is still covered.
What does a false alarm cost in Phoenix?
Without the required permit, you may be assessed $96.00 for each burglar alarm activation police respond to. With a permit, more than one false burglar alarm within a consecutive 365 day period means subsequent incidents can cost $96.00 each. False fire alarms carry $105.00.
How much is a Phoenix alarm permit?
The permit fee is not stated on the city's alarm ordinance page. Phoenix directs applicants to the Burglar and Fire Alarm Subscriber Permit Application and to the Police Department's Public Records and Services Unit, so confirm the current amount there rather than trusting a third-party figure.

Sources

  1. Phoenix Police Department burglary counts 2023 (5,690) and 2024 (5,274) and property crime counts 2023 (41,432) and 2024 (38,892); agency burglary rates per 100,000 of roughly 343 in 2023 and 317 in 2024 from the same CDE payload. Agency ORI AZ0072300.: https://cde.ucr.cjis.gov/LATEST/webapp/#/pages/explorer/crime/crime-trend (accessed 2026-08-19)
  2. City of Phoenix open data crime file: burglary 5,258 in 2023, 4,760 in 2024 and 3,361 in 2025, with only 21 burglary records dated September 2025: https://www.phoenixopendata.com/dataset/crime-data (accessed 2026-08-19)
  3. National burglary rate of roughly 232 per 100,000 residents (231.9): https://cde.ucr.cjis.gov/LATEST/webapp/#/pages/explorer/crime/crime-trend (accessed 2026-08-19)
  4. Phoenix requires a permit for alarm systems monitored by an alarm company as well as those that are not; $96.00 assessment per burglar alarm activation police respond to without a permit; $105.00 for fire; more than one false burglar alarm in a consecutive 365 day period means subsequent incidents can cost $96.00 each; False Alarm Prevention Program includes a certificate waiver for one $96 or $105 assessment; permit fee amount not stated on the page: https://www.phoenix.gov/administration/departments/police/community-resources/preventing-false-alarm-systems.html (accessed 2026-08-19)
  5. City of Phoenix burglar and fire alarm permit application page, the channel the city directs applicants to: https://www.phoenix.gov/administration/departments/police/community-resources/preventing-false-alarm-systems/burglar-fire-alarm-permit.html (accessed 2026-08-19)
  6. SimpliSafe published monitoring plan prices: 33 cents/day self monitoring with camera recordings, 76 cents/day Standard, $1.10/day Core, $1.66 to $2.66/day Pro and Pro Plus, as of August 2026: https://support.simplisafe.com/pages/monitoring-plans (accessed 2026-08-19)