CryWolf Alarm Registration: What It Is and Who Uses It

CryWolf is an online false alarm management system from CentralSquare Technologies that some cities and counties contract to run alarm permits. Where it is used, you register, renew, pay false alarm invoices and update contacts on your jurisdiction's crywolfservices.com page, but fees and rules come from the local ordinance. Fort Worth, Kansas City (Missouri), Charlotte-Mecklenburg and Sacramento County use it.

Figures researched 2026-10-01; each source below carries its access date. Prices change; treat any price here as "as of" its date.

What is CryWolf and why does my city use it?

CryWolf is the name of the online system, run by CentralSquare Technologies, that local governments contract to handle alarm permits and false alarm billing. Each participating jurisdiction gets its own page under crywolfservices.com (for example crywolfservices.com/fortworthtx or crywolfservices.com/kansascitymo), where residents can register a new alarm, renew a permit, pay an invoice and see their false alarm history.

The important point is what CryWolf does not do: it does not set the rules. The permit fee, how many free false alarms you get, the fine schedule and whether police will respond to an unpermitted alarm all come from the city or county ordinance. CryWolf is the administrator. It is a private vendor's system, not a government agency, and Home Security Radar has no relationship with CryWolf or CentralSquare. Fort Worth, for example, says it contracted CentralSquare to manage alarm permitting to make the program more efficient and help reduce false alarms, and that the change does not affect police response to calls.

The reason these programs exist at all is volume. Charlotte-Mecklenburg police say they receive more than 50,000 alarm response requests a year and that 98 percent are false. The Sacramento County Sheriff's Office reports roughly 32,000 alarm calls a year, also 98 percent false on average. Permits give the agency a way to identify who owns each alarm, reach them, and bill repeat false alarms. The broader reasons cities require permits are covered in alarm permits explained.

How CryWolf registration and false alarm billing work

The steps are similar wherever CryWolf is used, though the fees differ:

  1. Register the alarm. New users start a registration on their jurisdiction's CryWolf page. Kansas City's ordinance gives you 15 days after installation to pay the initial permit fee; Sacramento County adds surcharges if you ignore a notice that a permit is required.
  2. Give the permit number to your alarm company. This is what ties a dispatch request to you. Charlotte-Mecklenburg police state they cannot respond to an alarm unless the alarm company has your permit number when it calls. KCPD says response is denied until you have a permit.
  3. Renew on schedule. Kansas City and Fort Worth renew yearly. Sacramento County permits run two years, with a courtesy notice at least 45 days before the due date and no grace period; the Sheriff's page says Rancho Cordova does not require renewal.
  4. Pay false alarm invoices. After a police response finds no emergency, the agency logs a false alarm and, once any local free allowance is used up, you receive an invoice issued on the jurisdiction's behalf, payable through its CryWolf page. Kansas City's CryWolf page describes this as a legitimate government charge, not a private collection attempt.
  5. Appeal if it was not your fault. Appeals follow local rules: Kansas City allows 10 days after notice to appeal to its alarm review board, and Sacramento County allows 15 days after the invoice is mailed.

If an invoice or letter surprises you, reach the CryWolf page through the link on your city or county's own website rather than a link or phone number in an email, so you know you are dealing with the real program. Kansas City's ordinance does not count a dispatch as false when the alarm company or user cancels it before the officer reaches the site, which is why a fast disarm and cancel matters; check whether your program works the same way. Typical fine schedules are compared in how much does a false alarm cost, and whether police respond at all is covered in police response to burglar alarms.

Which cities and counties use CryWolf?

These jurisdictions' own official pages direct residents to CryWolf for alarm permits, as of October 2026. This is not a complete list; check your own city or county's alarm page.

JurisdictionAgencyPermit feeRenewalFree false alarms
Fort Worth, TXDevelopment Services Department$50/year residential, $100/year commercialYearly3 per 12 months, plus 2 panic/robbery
Kansas City, MOKansas City Missouri Police Department$52 new or reinstated$20 CryWolf fee, yearlyNot stated on KCPD's page
Charlotte and unincorporated Mecklenburg County, NCCharlotte-Mecklenburg Police DepartmentNot stated on the CMPD pagePermit valid 12 monthsNot stated on the CMPD page
Unincorporated Sacramento County and Rancho Cordova, CASacramento County Sheriff's Office$50$45, every two years (not required in Rancho Cordova)2 (fees start at the 3rd: $75 burglary, $150 panic/robbery)

For a full local breakdown of one of these programs, see home security in Fort Worth, which covers its permit, its false alarm fees, and a contradiction on the city's own page about the sixth call. Charlotte's local picture is in home security in Charlotte. Other cities run their own systems instead; San Diego, for example, uses its own permit site, and the City of Sacramento handles permits through its Police Department's Alarms Unit rather than the county's CryWolf program.

A permit is only worth having if the system it covers is reliable. If you are choosing a monitored system now, our short questionnaire at /quote fetches real quotes from monitoring providers for your address; ask each one how it verifies an alarm before calling police, since that step decides how many CryWolf invoices you ever see.

Frequently asked questions

Is CryWolf a scam?
No. CryWolf is a real system that cities and counties contract to run alarm permits and false alarm billing, and agencies such as KCPD, Fort Worth, Charlotte-Mecklenburg police and the Sacramento County Sheriff link to it from their official pages. To be safe with any letter or invoice, open the CryWolf page from your city or county's own website.
Who runs CryWolf?
CryWolf is provided by CentralSquare Technologies. Fort Worth's alarm page names CentralSquare as the contractor managing its alarm permitting, and Kansas City's CryWolf page carries the CentralSquare name.
Does CryWolf set the false alarm fines?
No. Fines and permit fees come from the local ordinance. Fort Worth charges $50 per call for its 4th and 5th false alarms in 12 months, while the Sacramento County Sheriff charges $75 for the 3rd, all collected through the same type of CryWolf portal.
Do I need to register with CryWolf if I only have cameras?
Usually the question is whether your local ordinance covers your device, not CryWolf. Charlotte, for example, applies its permit to electronic burglar alarm systems and excludes auto, fire and medical alarms. Check your jurisdiction's own alarm page.
How do I find my city's CryWolf page?
Start from your city or county police or permits website and follow its alarm permit link. Each jurisdiction has its own CryWolf address, such as crywolfservices.com/fortworthtx for Fort Worth or crywolfservices.com/kansascitymo for Kansas City, Missouri.

Sources

  1. Fort Worth: permit required for police response to monitored alarm, issued by Development Services; city contracted CentralSquare Technologies to manage alarm permitting; transition does not impact police response; register, renew, pay, view false alarms at crywolfservices.com/fortworthtx; residential $50/year, commercial $100/year; 3 false alarms plus 2 panic/robbery calls before fees; 4-5 false alarms $50 per call: https://www.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/development-services/permits/alarms (accessed 2026-10-01)
  2. KCPD: processes alarm user permits through CryWolf Services; $52 new or reinstated permit; $20 CryWolf renewal fee; response denied until permit obtained: https://kcpolice.org/about/services/private-alarms/ (accessed 2026-10-01)
  3. Kansas City CryWolf page: Kansas City False Alarm Reduction Program by CentralSquare Technologies; register, renew, pay invoices; invoice is a legitimate government charge issued on behalf of the municipality, not a private collection attempt: https://www.crywolfservices.com/kansascitymo/ (accessed 2026-10-01)
  4. Kansas City ordinance: initial permit fee within 15 days of installation (50-333); permit expires one year from issue (50-336); appeal within 10 days to alarm review board (50-344); dispatch cancelled before the officer reaches the site is not a false alarm dispatch (50-332) (Kansas City, MO Code of Ordinances on Municode): https://library.municode.com/mo/kansas_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COORKAMIVOII_CH50OFMIPR_ARTXSEAL (accessed 2026-10-01)
  5. Charlotte-Mecklenburg PD: over 50,000 alarm response requests a year, 98% false; apply for alarm permit via CryWolfservices.com; burglar alarms in Charlotte city limits or unincorporated Mecklenburg County must be registered; auto, fire and medical alarms excluded; permit valid 12 months; police cannot respond unless the alarm company has the permit number: https://www.charlottenc.gov/cmpd/Community-Involvement/False-Alarm-Reduction (accessed 2026-10-01)
  6. Sacramento County Sheriff: permit required; online permit portal on CryWolf; about 32,000 alarm calls a year, 98% false; permit $50; surcharges if a permit notice is ignored; permits valid two years, courtesy notice at least 45 days before renewal due date, no grace period; appeal within 15 days of invoice mailing; jurisdiction covers unincorporated Sacramento County and Rancho Cordova; Rancho Cordova does not require permits to be renewed: https://www.sacsheriff.com/pages/fiscal_alarm_ordinance.php (accessed 2026-10-01)
  7. Sacramento County Sheriff fee schedule: renewal $45; 1st and 2nd false alarms no fee; 3rd $75 burglary, $150 panic/robbery: https://www.sacsheriff.com/documents/alarms/Alarm%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf (accessed 2026-10-01)
  8. San Diego runs its own alarm permit site (sdpdalarmpermits.sandiego.gov): https://www.sandiego.gov/police/services/permits (accessed 2026-10-01)
  9. City of Sacramento permits handled by SPD Alarms Unit: https://www.cityofsacramento.gov/police/police-services/request-a-permit/alarm-permits (accessed 2026-10-01)